2020 Awardees

Colorado Association of Libraries 2020 Awards

Each year the Colorado Association of Libraries (CAL) receives many nominations for outstanding libraries, teams, and individuals in and around the library industry.  These awards showcase the top talent across Colorado.  Each nomination is evaluated, and after careful consideration by the CAL Awards Committee, winners are chosen and approved by the CAL Board.  Thank you to everyone for all you do and the hard work you put in. This year 2020 was an unusual year for us all, and we were more excited than ever to celebrate the accomplishments of our Colorado Library Community. 

The 2020 awards were as follows:

President’s Award: Colorado State Library
Special Recognition of Leadership During a Pandemic: Crystal Schimpf
Distinction in Library Services: Helen I. Reed
Equity, Diversion, and Inclusion:  Colorado Black Library Association
Innovated Spaces Award:  Antonia Gaona
Library Partnership of the Year: Laurin Arnold
Lucy Schweers Award for Excellence in Support Services: Sarah Vaughn
Outstanding Trustees of the Year: John Krueger
Outstanding Trustees of the Year:  Dorothy Pisel
Project of the Year: Elizabeth Grey
Unsung Hero: Maria Lokey
Volunteer of the Year:  Florence Jones
Jean Maio Award for Adult Literacy:  Charlotte McLain
Julie J. Boucher Award for Intellectual Freedom: Anonymous Library Workers of Douglas County Libraries
Julie J. Boucher Award for Intellectual Freedom:
Morgan Perlman
Julie J. Boucher Award for Intellectual Freedom: 
Cooper Jones
Legislative Award:
Julie McCluskie


Thank you once again to all our award recipients and a round of applause for our nominators. Without nominators, we wouldn’t have award winners.  You make a difference every day. The winners were celebrated at the 2020 CALCON Awards Ceremony.