Colorado Association of School Libraries (CASL)

CASL strives to:

  • Encourage professional growth and adherence to professional standards
  • Advocate for school library programs, information literacy, educational technology, and lifelong learning
  • Acknowledge school library leadership and meritorious service


Important Documents:

CASL is helping School Librarians Speak Out

We've launched a great new website to help school librarians advocate in a positive manner to save and support school libraries. The CASL Survive and Thrive website provides tools to educate and inform stakeholders about the vital and irreplaceable role that school librarians play in teaching and learning. In order to better communicate to our community members what "21st century skills" are all about, CASL developed "taglines" for the 21st century skills of the Colorado Academic Standards. On the site, you will find message templates (sample e-mails, letters, newsletter blurbs, brochures, and even videos) containing the taglines and targeting specific stakeholder audiences in order to promote school librarians as 21st century skills experts. Check out the site and start advocating!

Links

Colorado Association of School Libraries (CASL):
Co-President
Terri Brungardt
Widefield School District 3

e-mail: brungardtt@wsd3.org
Co-President
Tiah Frankish
Adams 12 Five Star Schools

e-mail: fra008000@adams12.org
Past President
Molly Gibney

e-mail: mgibney@comcast.net
Secretary
Katherine Kates
Academy District 20

e-mail: k_kates@hotmail.com
Member-At-Large
Rachel Budzynski
University Schools

e-mail: rbudzynski@universityschools.com
Member-At-Large
Amy Hawkins-Keeler, Hawkins-Keeler
Widefield High School

e-mail: keelera@wsd3.org
Legislative Rep.
David Sanger
CAL Legislative Committee

e-mail: dsanger401@aol.com