Blog

[April 28th Webinar] Intellectual Freedom and the Law: Social Media, First Amendment Audits, and the Law

[60 Minute Webinar] Intellectual Freedom and the Law:
Social Media, First Amendment Audits, and the Library as a Public Forum

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

2 p.m. Eastern / 1 p.m. Central

12 p.m. Mountain / 11 a.m. Alaska / 10 a.m. Hawaii

Overview of the Webinar:

Do you know what the law says about the public library’s ability to regulate and moderate comments and posts on the library’s social media sites? Can “First Amendment Auditors” film library patrons with impunity? This program will explore the current case law addressing public libraries’ responsibilities with respect to moderating social media as well as the ability of libraries to manage and regulate photography and recording activities inside the library. Learn how to minimize your library’s exposure to litigation if your library has a social media site open to the public or if an individual claims a right to film inside the library. There will be time set aside for your questions about these topics and other questions concerning intellectual freedom and the law.

About the Presenter:

Theresa Chmara is an attorney in Washington, DC. She is also the General Counsel of the Freedom to Read Foundation. She is the author ofPrivacy and Confidentiality Issues: A Guide for Libraries and their Lawyers(ALA 2009). She has been a First Amendment lawyer for over thirty years and is a frequent speaker on intellectual freedom issues in libraries. She is a contributing author for the Intellectual Freedom Manual published by the Office of Intellectual Freedom of the American Library Association and a frequent instructor for the Lawyers for Libraries training seminars.

This webinar is complementary to FTRF members. There is a $25 registration fee for non-FTRF members. Non-members are invited to join FTRF to take advantage of this member-only benefit. Learn more.  



REGISTER NOW

 

Return to list

0 Comments